Merge Facebook Profiles

Ever so often people ask us Merge Facebook Profiles or even more Facebook accounts. Now don't obtain your hopes up! The truth is, it is not feasible to immediately merge Facebook accounts. However, there are workarounds.

While Facebook does not offer a means to auto-merge all your friends, images, status updates, check-ins or other details, you could by hand merge parts of your accounts. All it takes is a little preparation and also perseverance. Regrettably, you won't have the ability to move or re-create all your Data.


Merge Facebook Profiles


Mass Download Data

As a primary step I suggest to bulk download your Facebook Data, a procedure I have actually described previously. This treatment could spend some time and also the archive will function as a marginal back-up, must you make a decision to deactivate or erase your account. It will not be of fantastic assistance in bring back any kind of Data, though.

Briefly, most likely to your General Account Settings and also click Download a copy of your Facebook Data near the bottom.


This will lead you to a web page where you can download your details and also obtain a copy of exactly what you have shared on Facebook.


Now do begin your archive on this initial web page. Additionally find where it states You can likewise Download an increased archive ... as well as click the respective web link. This will certainly direct you to the Expanded Archive Download page where you will certainly be asked to re-enter your password.


Now right here is where you will require patience. Depending on how huge your primary as well as your broadened archive are and also the number of other archives are in the line, this could spend some time. And with that I mean a couple of hours.

Keep in mind that you need to Download both archives, to get a full backup of your account!


When your archive is available for download, this is exactly what the web page will resemble.


Although your very own images are supposed to be consisted of in the archive, you need to download your Facebook Photos independently. Not only is this procedure another backup, it is also a lot faster and also could provide you with more options.

Restore Friends

As stated over, you will not be able to Restore or migrate all of your Data which includes your friends. You have to by hand add friends to your brand-new account. Unfortunately, it is not feasible export your Facebook friends to a third party account and then re-import them to a brand-new Facebook account.

Nevertheless, you could import calls from 3rd party accounts such as Skype or Gmail. So if you have contact information of a lot of your friends on accounts beyond Facebook, you could take a little shortcut. Most likely to your new Facebook account as well as import contacts from any kind of supported third party account (CSV documents are likewise supported) using the Locate Friends web page.


While you could export your Facebook contacts to Yahoo! Mail, it is not be feasible to re-import them to Facebook. As well as contacts imported from Facebook will certainly not be consisted of in a Yahoo! CSV file.

I wrote a separate post on how to back up your Facebook calls. Note that only contact details of friends that have agreed to have their email address consisted of in details downloads can be imported into your Yahoo! account.

Restore Account Data

Below comes the big disappointment. There is no chance to upload or otherwise import your archive to Restore or transfer Data from your old Facebook account to your new one. Whatever you want to Restore, you have to do it (semi-) manually or use third party tools. Now, the archive merely acts as an individual backup, absolutely nothing even more.

So what are your choices? You can re-add your old friends as revealed above, re-upload pictures you downloaded from your old account, re-tag your friends in your images, re-join groups you were a member of, re-add Facebook apps, manually re-do all your personal Settings, consisting of basic account and also privacy Settings, e.g. protect your Facebook account, add relied on calls, or hide your individual Settings. I wish I had great information, yet as I said previously, you could not auto-merge 2 accounts or Restore Data, so you basically go back to square one.

What You Will certainly Shed

You will shed a lot! Your entire Timeline as well as News Feed history will be gone, consisting of posts or images you were labelled in, areas you checked into, all the Sorts you provided or got, or groups you belonged to, all your account and also personal privacy Settings, and also other documents you built up with time. Your pictures and also friends are actually all you could take with you, whatever else has to be re-created by hand.

Shut off or Shut Your Old Facebook Account.

If you decide to shut off or shut your old Facebook account, be sure to add your brand-new account as an admin to any Teams or Pages you manage. Or else you will certainly lose access to them.

When you have actually cared for admin duties, have actually downloaded all your Data, and make sure you wish to completely remove your account, log right into the Facebook account you intend to close, as well as see the Delete My Account page to start the process. We have actually formerly explained How To Appropriately Shut Your Facebook Account.

Final thought

Facebook enables you to Download an archive of your account. Nonetheless, there is no matching system in place to restore your Data, should the account obtain jeopardized. Facebook never ever planned to give a restore feature; instead they were legally required to offer a way for users to download their Data. Because of this, users are entrusted nothing but half-baked remedies or unpleasant workarounds, need to they desire to merge or move accounts.

Exactly what would trouble you most if you needed to move to a new Facebook account?